#### ANNUAL MEETING OF COUNCIL

(Civic Centre, Port Talbot)

Members Present: 26 April, 2018

The Mayor: Councillor D.Keogh

The Deputy Mayor: Councillor S.Jones

**Councillors**: A.R.Aubrey, S.Bamsey, D.Cawsey,

S. ap Dafydd, A.P.H.Davies, D.W.Davies,

N.J.E.Davies, O.S.Davies, R.Davies, C.Edwards, M.Ellis, S.E.Freeguard,

C.Galsworthy, W.F.Griffiths, J.Hale, S.Harris, M.Harvey, N.T.Hunt, S.K.Hunt, C.James, H.N.James, C.J.Jones, D.Jones, L.Jones,

R.G.Jones, S.A.Knoyle, E.V.Latham, A.Llewelyn, A.McGrath, J.Miller, S.Miller,

R.Mizen, J.D.Morgan, S.Paddison, S.M.Penry,

M.Protheroe, L.M.Purcell, S.Pursey, S.Rahaman, P.A.Rees, S.H.Reynolds, A.J.Richards, P.D.Richards, A.J.Taylor, R.L.Taylor, A.L.Thomas, J.Warman, D.Whitelock, C.Williams, R.W.Wood and

A.N.Woolcock

Officers in S.Phillips, H.Jenkins, A.Evans, G.Nutt, Attendance: A.Jarrett, R.George and A.Manchipp

### 1. ELECTION OF MAYOR FOR 2018/19

On the motion of Councillor Councillor S.Paddison seconded by Councillor S.Freeguard, it was:-

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Dennis Keogh be elected Mayor for

the Civic Year 2018/19 pursuant to Section 23(1) of

the Local Government Act 1972.

Councillor Dennis Keogh then subscribed to the Oath of Allegiance administered by the Chief Executive and made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Mayoress would be Mrs Christine Keogh and the Mayor's Chaplain would be Father Mark Williams from the Parish of Saint Theodore.

### 2. APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY MAYOR FOR 2018/19

On the motion of Councillor A.N.Woolcock seconded by Councillor A.P.H.Davies, it was:-

**RESOLVED:** that Councillor Scott Jones be appointed the

Deputy Mayor for the Civic Year 2018/2019

pursuant to Section 24(1) of the Local Government

Act 1972.

Councillor Scott Jones then made the formal Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Chief Executive was pleased to announce that the Deputy Mayoress for the Civic Year would be Mrs Jemma Jones.

# 3. <u>INVESTITURE OF MAYORESS AND DEPUTY MAYORESS FOR</u> 2018/19

The Mayoress was invested with her Insignia of Office.

The Deputy Mayoress with invested with her Insignia of Office.

### 4. MAYOR'S ADDRESS

The Mayor, Councillor Dennis Keogh, then made his Mayoral Address and also took the opportunity to thank Members for their support in electing him as Mayor and to pay tribute to the late Mayor, Councillor Janice Dudley.

## 5. APPOINTMENT OF THE LEADER AND THE DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL FOR 2018/19

On the motion of Councillor S.Rahaman seconded by Councillor L.Jones, it was:-

**RESOLVED:** that, pursuant to Part 4, Section 1(1.1) of the

Constitution, Councillor R.G.Jones be appointed Leader of the Council and Councillor A.J.Taylor be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the

Civic Year 2018/19.

### 6. ADMINISTRATION ISSUES FOR 2018/19

The Mayor reported that, as it was not practicable for the various administration issues to be dealt with at the Annual Meeting, it was intended to convene a Special Meeting of Council on Wednesday, 2 May, 2018.

**RESOLVED:** that the Administration Issues be considered at the

Special Meeting of Council to be held on 2 May,

2018.

The Mayor then declared the Meeting closed.

**CHAIRPERSON**